Fort Lewis Mesa Fire Protection District Logo

The Fort Lewis Mesa Fire Protection District is located in the western portion of La Plata County and encompasses approximately 357 square miles, from the Colorado/New Mexico state line on Highway 140, to the top of Hesperus Hill, to the county line at the top of Mancos Hill, to the bottom of Blue Hill in Wildcat Canyon and also includes La Plata Canyon, within our boundaries are the communities of Hesperus, Red Mesa, Breen, Kline, and Marvel. The district is first due to 2093 residencies with a population of approximately 4500. The Fire Protection District, a Colorado special tax district, is governed by an elected five-member board of directors.

The Fort Lewis Mesa Fire Protection District is an all hazards response district, providing emergency response to structure fires, wildland fires, hazardous materials, motor vehicle accidents, medical emergencies, and technical rescue.

The department consists of plus or minus 30 volunteer members and 5 full and part time employees. The majority of members are cross-trained in different disciplines.